Science

After studying Biology at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, I did my DPhil in the Physics department at the Freie Universität Berlin. After a Postdoc period at the University of Oxford, UK, I'm now located at the Institute of Physical Chemistry at the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg.

The main focus of my research is methodologically on Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR).

The systems investigated during the DPhil thesis belong to a certain group of blue-light active flavoproteins, namely cryptochromes.

Meanwhile, I'm investigating conjugated polymers and their building blocks relevant for organic electronics applications.

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR)

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) together with its more widely known couterpart Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) is one of the methods of magnetic resonance spectroscopy.

Flavoproteins

Flavins are the most abundant cofactors of proteins in nature. Blue-light active flavoproteins can be divided into three classes: (i) phototropins, (ii) proteins containing BLUF domains, and (iii) photolyases and cryptochromes.

Organic Photovoltaics/Elektronics

Organic semiconductors have been widely studied over the last two decades and are currently used in a large range of applications such as light-emitting diodes, field-effect transistors, light detectors, and solar cells. Perhaps the most important advantage of these materials compared to their conventional, inorganic, and mainly silicon-based counterparts is the capability of nearly endlessly and systematically tailoring molecules for the desired purpose using well-established protocols of synthetic chemistry. A detailed understanding of the electronic structure of polymers and their building blocks is essential to develop efficient materials for organic electronics.

Publications

en/forschung/index.txt · Last modified: 2018/03/04 09:28 by till

Wissenschaft

Der Autor dieser Seiten hat nach seinem Studium der Biologie in der Physik promoviert und ist mittlerweile Projektleiter an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg im Institut für Physikalische Chemie.

Der Schwerpunkt der eigenen Forschungen liegt methodisch auf der Elektronenspin-Resonanz-Spektroskopie.

Während der Doktorarbeit und anschließend bei einem Forschungsaufenthalt an der Universität Oxford, UK, standen Cryptochrome, eine bestimmten Gruppe blaulichtaktiver Flavoproteine, im Fokus der eigenen Forschung.

Mittlerweile liegt der Schwerpunkt auf konjugierten Polymeren und anderen Materialien für die organische Elektronik.

Elektronenspin-Resonanz (EPR)

Die Elektronenspin-Resonanz (engl. electron paramagnetic resonance, EPR) gehört zusammen mit der bekannteren Kernspin-Resonanz (engl. nuclear magnetic resonance, NMR) zu den Methoden der magnetischen Resonanz.

Einführung in die Elektronenspin-Resonanz (EPR)

Flavoproteine

Flavine sind die am häufigsten anzutreffenden Kofaktoren von Proteinen in der Natur. Blaulichtaktive Flavoproteine lassen sich in drei Klassen einteilen: Phototropine, BLUF-Domänen enthaltende Proteine und Photolyasen/Cryptochrome.

Kleiner Überblick über blaulichtaktive Flavoproteine

Organische Photovoltaik/Elektronik

Organische Halbleiter wurden innerhalb der letzten Jahrzehnte intensiv erforscht und befinden sich aktuell vielfältig im Einsatz, z.B. als Leuchtdioden, Transistoren, Detektoren und Solarzellen. Der vielleicht größte Vorteil organischer Halbleiter gegenüber ihren anorganischen Pendants ist die Möglichkeit der synthetischen Chemie, diese Moleküle maßzuschneidern. Ein detailliertes Verständnis der elektronischen Struktur von Polymeren und ihren Bausteinen ist dabei essentiell, um effiziente Materialien für die Anwendungen in der organischen Elektronik zu entwickeln.

Kleiner Überblick über organische Photovoltaik/Elektronik

Publikationen

Liste der eigenen Publikationen

de/forschung/index.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2018/03/04 09:23 von till